On The Go & Deliciously So

If you’ve read my latest two blog posts, then you are aware of the fact that, in regards to food, I’ve really only talked about cookies and cheesecake. While there is a time and place for everything (and when it comes to dessert, I usually go out of my way to make time for it), I tend to eat relatively healthy on a daily basis. And since I promised to include some healthy food ideas on this blog, today, I bring you three of my go-to healthy breakfast ideas that are easy to prepare and actually taste great.

When it came to cooking (or in my case, throwing things together and hoping they turn out edible), I used to respond to anything that wasn’t microwavable or quick with an attitude similar to that of Seth Cohen’s (pictured above).

I have since moved on from that phase of my life and now don’t count something out if I can’t microwave it. However, “quick” is definitely still part of my vocabulary, especially when it comes to breakfast. As crazy as it sounds, I’m sure I’m not the only college student who’d rather sleep an extra 20 minutes than whip up an elaborate AM feast.

I was inspired to write about this topic as I was scrolling through my Twitter newsfeed and came across a tweet from Cosmopolitan:

Although it provides ideas for post-workout snacks, I think that some of the recipes can definitely transfer over to those for breakfast.

No Bake Granola Bar Bites

For example, these No Bake Granola Bar Bites look super yummy and don’t take much effort, which is always a plus in my book.

What makes this recipe so awesome is the fact that you can use different combinations of your favorite granola bar ingredients and make new concoctions every time. The bites pictured above consist of:

  • 1 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3 TBS honey
  • 1/4 cup coconut flakes
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup raisins

Although the bites must chill for about half an hour in the fridge after mixed together in order to keep shape (thus taking up some time), I’d make a big batch of these the night before my week begins and grab some as I’m fleeing out the door the next few mornings. They can substitute for mid-day snacks. Just make sure to store them in an airtight container in the fridge and voilà, they’ll last for up to one week.

 Yogurt Parfaits

Okay, so my yogurt parfaits don’t usually look that pretty. Still, this doesn’t change the fact that they always turn out delicious and take less than five minutes to prepare.

My favorite ingredients include:

Toast + Avocado + Egg Whites = Yum

Lastly, I bring you what I like to call The Recipe That Looks The Most Elaborate But Actually Isn’t. The ingredients include:

  • Two pieces of toast (preferably whole-wheat or rye)
  • Half a ripe avocado
  • Olive oil
  • Juice from half a lime
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Egg whites (these aren’t pictured, but add in some extra protein)

All you need to do is mix the avocado, olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper. Then, spread the mixture onto the two pieces of toast and top it all off with some egg whites. Season again with a bit more salt and pepper, and there you have it! You are now ready to enjoy a tasty and filling breakfast that will leave you feeling satisfied rather than disappointed.

With more than half of adult New Yorkers being either overweight (34%) or obese (22%), keeping such easy and healthy breakfast ideas in mind can be just what we all need in order to keep from becoming statistics. I’ll keep you all updated on whether I come across any more  recipes!

xo

Leave a Reply

