Trust Me, You’ll Want To Try These

Let’s all just have a moment of silence for the accuracy of this meme (as well as the facial expression…)

Upon living on my own for the past year and a half, I have become one of those people who tends to eat out more often than not. Interestingly enough, according to a survey of the National Restaurant Association, Americans spend about 46 percent of their food dollar on food away from home.

For me, it’s not so much as the conveniency of someone else preparing food that most probably tastes better than anything I’d attempt to cook. In actuality, I just really enjoy discovering new restaurants and recommending the ones that really stand out to me to my friends.

Seeing as I agree with almost everything that Jennifer Lawrence says and does (I’d volunteer as tribute to get paid to wear couture dresses any day), you can infer that I take what I eat throughout the day pretty seriously. In all honesty, one of my biggest pet peeves is eating a mediocre meal (I mean, who likes wasting calories and time?)

Although I’ve had my fair share of disappointing dishes, I have also been lucky enough to discover certain restaurants around New York City that continuously satisfy my taste buds. Here are a few of my absolute favorites, including some dish recommendations.

El Centro

Located in Hell’s Kitchen, El Centro is my go-to restaurant whenever I’m craving both delicious and affordable Mexican food. Although going to this hot spot usually results in at least a 15-20 minute wait, believe me when I say that it’s totally worth it.

Now, I know what you’re thinking – can Mexican food be affordable and not result in an upset stomach? El Centro is living proof that it really can. My favorite dish to order is the grilled chicken fajitas. While it’s $15.50 price tag might seem high-priced at first glance, it’s definitely preferable to paying $19.50 for the same platter at Dos Caminos (which I also love, but my wallet doesn’t).

John’s Pizzeria

If you live in New York City, it’s likely that you usually avoid going to Times Square at all costs. Personally, I can’t stand how overcrowded it gets – it sees pedestrian counts over 460,000 people on the busiest days – to the point where I’d vouch for a “Tourists” lane.

Even with this attitude, John’s Pizzeria keeps me coming back to W. 44th St. I know this may come as a surprise, but I am recommending that you order…pizza *gasp*. My go-to order is the bruschetta pizza, which is making my mouth water as we speak.

New York Times restaurant critic Eric Asimov claims that what sets John’s apart is “the expert economy of its pizza: no waste or excess, a thin and faintly smoky crust, just crisp enough to offer a delicate crunch.”

Even though this is definitely accurate, I feel that what makes this pizzeria stand out amongst the hundreds in this big city is the fact that you can’t simply order one slice. You have the choice of ordering either a small (6 slices) or large (8) pizza. Although this looks intimidating, I can assure you that you’ll be contemplating a second pie by the time you finish your first one (it’s not like I’m speaking from personal experience or anything…)

Molly’s

There is this rare sense of authenticity that I have found within Molly’s, which is referred to as “New York’s finest Irish pub” by the New York Post. It’s features can be best described as rustic, complete with sawdust on the floor and a comforting fireplace.

Although I try to keep my meal options open whenever I revisit a restaurant, I give in to ordering the Shepherd’s Pie whenever I go to Molly’s. I don’t know how, but it tastes better each and every time I do. But I’m not one to ask questions when I’m too busy stuffing my face with mashed potatoes and beef.

I hope you’ve all enjoyed learning about some of my favorite New York City restaurants!

xo

Leave a Reply

